Join me on a Big Sky adventure in Helena, Montana

Montana is known as ‘big sky country’ and is nicknamed the treasure state, and starting next weekend you can join me on a journey to discover some of those treasures.

Although I usually cover the Central Florida attractions, I love to venture beyond the Sunshine State and share my travels to places from Canada to the Caribbean. This time around, I’m visiting Helena, Montana, where I’ll explore the cultural side of the city. Montana is a place of beauty, and I’ll most certainly be soaking that in, but I’ll also be immersing myself in the city’s history, art, and music.

Sampler of Helena, Montana, adventures

My trip reports will start next weekend, but here’s a sneak peek at some of the experiences I’ll be sharing:

Symphony Under the Stars: Each year, the Helena Symphony Orchestra plays on outdoor concert that draws a crowd of 15,000+ who stake out spots a day in advance to hear the music and marvel at the fireworks finale. Next weekend I’ll witness the show firsthand. It’s got a Broadway theme for 2016, with music from shows like “Wicked” and “Les Miserables.”

The Archie Bray Foundation for the Ceramic Arts: Brickmaker Archie Bray created this foundation back in 1951, and its on the National Register of Historic Places. Nestled in the natural beauty of the Rocky Mountain foothills, it’s a gathering place for artists who work in the ceramic medium. You can learn more about it in the video below:

The Montana Historical Museum: Although I’ve traveled out west quite a bit, Montana is a new state for me. I’m looking forward to learning more about its rich history at the museum.

The Holter Museum of Art: In addition to its modern art exhibition, this museum provides a place for the community to learn about art, including hands on programs.

4Cathedral of St. Helena: This magnificent cathedral dates back to the early 1900s. It was completed in 1918 and restored in the 1930s after a devastating earthquake. One of its notable features is its stained glass windows, which were imported from Bavaria, one of which its pictured at right. The cathedral underwent a large scale renovation in 2002 and is currently open for tours in addition to still functioning as a house of worship.

Tizer Botanic Gardens: Nature plays a big role in Montana’s beauty, and Tizer Botanic Gardens is a spot to soak it in. Tizer features rose, herb, vegetable, begonia and wildflower gardens, along with a gazebo and a secret garden on the banks of Prickley Pear Creek.

Gates of the Mountains Boat Tour: While much of my visit will center around art and culture, no trip to Montana is complete without marveling at the mountains and a chance to spot the region’s diverse wildlife. I’ll get that opportunity on the Gates of the Mountains Boat Tour.

That’s just a small sampling of the adventures that lie ahead in Helena, Montana, visit my blog starting next weekend for photos, videos, and full reports of my adventures discovering the treasures of the American west.

 

Leave a Reply

